On October 28th, 2021 at 9 am PST/12 pm EST/5 pm UTC, GO FAIR US will be hosting a webinar on how USGS has utilized the GO FAIR Pillars in their roadmap for enabling FAIR Data. Fran Lightsom and Viv Hutchinson will be giving a talk titled: “Mapping GO FAIR Pillars to the new USGS Roadmap for enabling FAIR Data.” Registration for the webinar is available at this link.

Abstract:

In 2019, the USGS Community for Data Integration (CDI) funded development of a roadmap to facilitate the production and release of more FAIR data in the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). The resulting roadmap recommends nine interdependent strategies, addressed through coordinated actions taken by multiple organizational areas of the USGS, that focus on enabling improvements to individual data products, providing infrastructure, and defining administrative activities to support an organizational culture that understands and values FAIR. The recommended actions are consistent with the three pillars of GOFAIR, including improvements to USGS policies and training, development and implementation of improved technology, and investigation of opportunities to align employee incentives that encourage FAIR.  

Presenters:


Fran Lightsom
Fran Lightsom has worked for the U. S. Geological Survey for 31 years. She currently supervises the information science group at the USGS Woods Hole Coastal and Marine Science Center, leads two data management projects, and coordinates the USGS Metadata Reviewers Community of Practice. Lightsom has a Ph.D. in physical oceanography. Her first assignment at USGS was processing, quality control, and management of a collection of USGS oceanographic time-series data.


Viv Hutchinson
Viv Hutchison is the Branch Chief for Science Data Management in the Core Science Analytics, Synthesis and Libraries program in the US Geological Survey (USGS). Her team is primarily dedicated to developing and maintaining a suite of enterprise-wide data management tools, promoting best practices that support USGS scientists in long-term management of science data, and leading communities of practice on data integration. She has a Masters of Library Science from the University of Maryland College Park, loves hiking, backpacking, and snowboarding, and has worked for USGS since 2002.

Webinar Details:
Date: 28 October 2021
Time: 12-1PM Eastern Time / 9-10AM Pacific Time / 5PM UTC
Topic: Mapping GOFAIR Pillars to the new USGS Roadmap for enabling FAIR data 
Registration